Read for a Better World: October Edition

Lover’s Quarrel’s mission is to make the world a better place by promoting self-published books and books from independent bookstores, which is why half of all Lover’s Quarrel affiliate links go to charity. 

Help Lover’s Quarrel reach its goal of donating $100 to charity in 2017 by purchasing a book through one of these affiliate links.  The romance novels featured on this list give higher affiliate earnings than usual so you can maximize your impact with your purchase. 50 percent of the affiliate earnings from these books will go to the Malala Fund. 

1) Till Zombies Do Us Part by Celeste Ayers

 

till-zombies-do-us-part-187x300

Genre: Science Fiction, Teen

 

Word Count: 16, 660

Noah and Amy are two sexy teens in love. There is, however, one problem; the world as they know it was turned into nothing but a pile of chaos and zombies. As they now battle for survival they’ll embark on a journey into the unknown while facing new trials that will put both their love for each other and their humanity to the ultimate test. Just how far will they be willing to go?

Buy Till Zombies Do Us Part now and 41 percent of your purchase will be donated to the Malala Fund to help girls around the world get a quality education. 

 

2) Nelly by Nora A.M. Crown

27723440-_uy475_ss475_Genre: Historical

Word Count: 15,620

Encompassing the high-speed dialogues of plays and the scene directives of screenplays combined within the easy to follow format of a novel!

London 1923: Nelly is an upper-class successful single independent professional woman in her early thirties who needs to find Henry, the man who is behind her family’s tragedy and has tarnished their reputation. Henry holds the key to her past and is her only link to finding her last living relative.
Her journey leads her on a quest of self-discovery and triumph as she learns to overcome her feelings of guilt and inadequacy. But one more obstacle threatens her happiness. She learns that the man she loves follows his own agenda as she makes a startling discovery about his past and an unimaginable commonality that they share… Can she forgive him in order to find trust and happiness once more?

Buy Nelly now and 41 percent of your purchase will be donated to the Malala Fund to help girls around the world get a quality education. 

 

3) The First Bite is the Deepest by Elisa Catrina

412cm78fogl-_sy346_Genre: Fantasy, Paranormal

Word Count: 89,630

High school senior Stella Ortiz loves field hockey, her friends, biology class, and the occasional trashy vampire romance. So when she encounters mysterious transfer student Sebastian Weber–a real-life version of her favorite novels’ broodingly gorgeous protagonists–she’s immediately drawn to him. Her friends, on the other hand, aren’t impressed: Sebastian misses tons of school, he day-drinks something that smells like pennies, and oh yeah, he’s a vampire.

What starts as a quirky send-up of vampire romance quickly turns sinister. Stella and her friends find themselves pitted against not only Sebastian, but his entire family–a cadre of supernatural predators determined to keep the secret of their existence from spreading any further.

Sometimes, breakups really are a matter of life and death.

Fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Christopher Moore, and Dracula will love this mordant take on vampire romance, which readers have called “funny and clever and emotionally hard-hitting” as well as “a perfectly creepy read.”

Buy The First Bite Is The Deepest now and 41 percent of your purchase will be donated to the Malala Fund to help girls around the world get a quality education. 

 

4) Burn Me Again by Becky Harris

Burn Me AgainGenre: Contemporary

Word Count: 11,630

Emma and Brody had been friends since they were in Kindergarten. When high school rolled around their feelings for each other turned into something more than just friendship. Their love was fast and furious, just like their relationship. All was going perfectly until an accident struck Brody’s family. His brother had been in a fatal car accident with a drunk driver.
Struck by the tragedy, Brody turned to alcohol. When Emma found out she immediately confronted him. The confrontation immediately went south when Brody lashed out at her. It severed their relationship separating them for four years.
At Emma’s graduation, she stumbles into him. As soon as their eyes meet the feelings rush back. When Brody asks Emma for a second chance she can’t help, but give it. Though it comes with a few stumbles along the way they pick up right where they left off.

Buy Burn Me Again now and 41 percent of your purchase will be donated to the Malala Fund to help girls around the world get a quality education. 

 

5) Fallen Hero (and bonus story The Search) By Lorhainne Eckhart

51szv2x9v2bl-_sy445_ql70_Genre: Contemporary

Word Count: 51,270
Fallen Hero (Andy, Jed & Diana)
A cowboy who walked away from his family’s fortune. A woman who returned for justice. What they didn’t expect was to find love.

The Search, A bridge short story (Andy, Jed & Diana)
In THE SEARCH, after Jed goes missing, Diana is desperate and calls the one man she knows she shouldn’t, Jed’s cousin Andy.

 Buy Fallen Hero now and 41 percent of your purchase will be donated to the Malala Fund to help girls around the world get a quality education. 

6) A Vow of Love, A Friessen Family Christmas By Lorhainne Eckhart

b00nlplssy-zsgzwGenre: Contemporary

Word Count: 45,860

Sometimes families need a helping hand…

Holidays are about family, love and giving, but this Christmas The Friessens are in for a rough holiday season.

Thirteen days before Christmas, In the mail a letter arrives that was never meant for Candy Friessen. It is for her husband Neil, and when she opens it, she discovers a lie that rocks her world. And she begins to question everything they created together, including his love for her and their family.

Seven days before Christmas, Even though her heart is breaking she considers leaving. She makes plans until a call one night alerts all the Friessens that Becky Friessen, their mother is in the hospital fighting for her life. And without a second thought the entire Friessen clan is on a plane to her bedside. Faced with uncertainty Brad, Neil, Jed and their wives are together for Christmas, but there’s no happy celebration, and gifts piled under the tree.

And for Candy and Neil, once trust is destroyed, is a family bond strong enough to make a difference?

Buy A Vow of Love, A Friessen Family Christmas now and 41 percent of your purchase will be donated to the Malala Fund to help girls around the world get a quality education. 

 7) The Two Schillings By Anthony O’Brian

1503176975Genre: Historical

Word Count: 183,680

The 100 Years War has torn both England & France. King Henry IV is on the throne newly taken and his son Harry of Monmouth, soon to be Henry the V is up to his legendary deeds.

This epic centers around a stalwart young man, Adrian, trained in the art of war, but not in the art of love. Honor is paramount and heartbreak is imminent. His first love, Victoria Marie becomes his study in both.

Adrian, in time, distinguishes himself with the prince’s knight-at-arms and in a melee, to become a personal attendant to the Crown Prince. He has the opportunity to save the Prince’s life and then to defend his honor. Along the way, he meets Raleigh and the two quickly become best of friends.

Many twists and turns await as the author carefully and skillfully weaves in the historical settings of the times and of Europe while maintaining the focus of a historical romance. This epic climaxes in a duel of honor that captures all of the London’s wild enthusiasm. Will Adrian stay true to his oath and honor while loving the young woman of his dreams?

 Buy The Two Schillings now and 41 percent of your purchase will be donated to the Malala Fund to help girls around the world get a quality education. 

8) Under Their Skin By Dinah Lee Küng

under their skinGenre: Contemporary

Word Count: 103,210

Dr. Roman Micheli runs his laser clinic like a discreet Swiss bank. His World Health doctor wife Isabel devotes herself to curing leprosy around the globe. Devoted professionals, they have no time for children and hardly enough for each other.
Then the Michelis’ complacent partnership starts to unravel. An American violinist sweeps onto a Geneva concert stage to weave a musical spell over her jaded audience. Ever the doctor, Roman strains from his seat to diagnose the purple birthmark marring the virtuoso’s beauty. Could the science of his lasers transform this young musician’s future?
Or will her art threaten his? In this love triangle of serial misunderstandings, lost opportunities, well-meant bungling, misplaced passions and fatal cultural confusion—no one foresees the unexpected consequences that lurk under ‘the skin’ of his or her everyday choices.

Buy Under Their Skin now and 40 percent of your purchase will be donated to the Malala Fund to help girls around the world get a quality education. 

Remember, these great opportunities are only guaranteed for October 2017 so get it while you can. Please share this article with as many people as possible to help Lover’s Quarrel reach its goal of raising $100 in 2017.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s